Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Goodies From The Google Teacher Academy


It has been over a week since I returned from the amazing experience at the Google Teacher Academy. It was definitely a highlight of my career as an educator.  I was fortunate to be a part of the awesome Team Edison with our fearless lead learner Kyle Brumbaugh. The best part was connecting to some of the most innovative and inspiring educators from all across the globe and hearing about the great things that are happening in their schools.  The other highlight was being at the Googleplex and learning from Googlers and other GCT's.  There was definitely no shortage of ideas and resources.  Below is a list of some of the resources that were shared at the GTA.  Believe it or not, there's much more to share and I will try to highlight a few of my favorites in future blog posts.  Even if you only have time to check a few of these, you won't be disappointed.

Google Maps & Earth

Google Map Maker: Enrich Google Maps With Your Knowledge - http://www.google.com/mapmaker


Maths Map: Using Google Maps to Teach Math - http://edte.ch/blog/maths-maps

Historical Map Collection - http://rumsey.geogarage.com/

Batch Geo: Create a map from spreadsheet data - http://batchgeo.com/

Using Google Earth for a Book Review - http://goo.gl/yva8w


Google Search

Safe Search: Use with younger students/children - http://goo.gl/Ppqel

Create a Google Custom Search Engine - http://www.google.com/cse/

Explore Google Trends: See interest over time on topics - http://www.google.com/trends/




Google Ngram Viewer: Graph display of phrase occurrence in books - http://books.google.com/ngrams

Power Searching with Google - http://www.powersearchingwithgoogle.com/

What do you love?: A unique way to search - http://www.wdyl.com/

Google Hotel Finder: http://www.google.com/hotelfinder


Data

Google Takeout: Download a copy of your data in Google products - https://www.google.com/takeout

Data Liberation Front: Move data in or out of Google products - http://www.dataliberation.org/home


YouTube

Interactive Video Example - http://goo.gl/b4XWu

YouTube Create: Use this for video creation - http://www.youtube.com/create

YouTube Video Editor: Edit video in YouTube - http://www.youtube.com/editor


Digital Citizenship & Literacy

Common Sense Media: Digital Literacy Curriculum - http://www.commonsensemedia.org/educators/curriculum


Google Good To Know - http://www.google.com/goodtoknow/




Misc Resources

Google World Wonders Project - http://www.google.com/intl/en/culturalinstitute/worldwonders/

Tech Sherpas: Learn tech from students - http://techsherpas.org/

The Chromium Project - http://www.chromium.org/

Google Art Project - http://www.googleartproject.com/

Google Cultural Institute - http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/

Google Story Builder - http://docsstorybuilder.appspot.com/

Scripts Resource - http://youpd.org/

Create a Favicon for your Google Site - http://www.favicon.cc/

Videos to Watch on YouTube:

Augmented Reality Video: The Future is Now - http://goo.gl/sAOtQ

Augmented Reality Video: Project Glass - http://goo.gl/ly2UO

YouTube's 7th Birthday Video - http://goo.gl/lH0Pl

Wishin' for a Definition - http://goo.gl/Fb0DA

Choose What Happens Next (Interactive Video Example) - http://goo.gl/6SA8Z



Chrome Extension Favorites: 
Webpage Screenshot - Take a screenshot of any webpage and also edit the web page text
MeasureIt - Find the pixel length and height of any webpage element


1 comment:

  1. Thank you for all of these fantastic resources, Liz! :)

    ReplyDelete